Project

© C. Ackermann

Project objective

Viticulture in Europe has to deal with the effects of climate change. Increasing droughts in summer, a high risk of erosion due to heavy rainfall and the immigration of new pests require innovative solutions.

The LIFE VineAdapt project aims to help improve the resilience of vineyard ecosystems to climatic changes. Increasing biodiversity and adapting vineyard manage-ment are crucial for this. LIFE VineAdapt builds on the findings of our predecessor project LIFE VinEcoS.

LIFE VineAdapt has a duration of 5 years. Until June 2025, eight practice and research partners from Germany, France, Austria and Hungary will focus on five work packages. Public relations and knowledge transfer measures will help to transfer the project results into viticultural practice

Expected Results

We will prove that the establishment of natural vegetation in vineyards is possible under different geographical and climatic conditions and will have positive biotic and abiotic effects. When establishing a resource-efficient and biodiversity-friendly management in vineyards, we expect a significant reduction of fertilizer demand as well as an improved CO2 balance.

We anticipate that native vegetation will regenerate better after drought than conventional greening. By establishing species-rich vegetation in formerly open inter-rows, we will increase carbon storage in the soil. Due to an expanded pollen and nectar supply from the wild plants, the occurrence of wild bees and pest antagonists in the vine alley is significantly increased. 

Project locations

Germany

Saale-Unstrut

France

Luberon

Austria

Styra

Hungary

Eger / Tokaj

Projekt

© C. Ackermann

Projektziel

Der Weinbau in Europa hat bereits mit den Auswirkungen des Klimawandels zu kämpfen. Zunehmende Dürreperioden im Sommer, ein hohes Erosionsrisiko durch Starkregenfälle und die Einwanderung neuer Schädlinge erfordern innovative Lösungen.

Das Projekt LIFE VineAdapt soll helfen, die Widerstandsfähigkeit der Weinberg-Ökosysteme gegenüber klimatischen Veränderungen zu verbessern. Hierfür entscheidend sind die Erhöhung der biologischen Vielfalt sowie eine angepasste Bewirtschaftung der Weinbauflächen. LIFE VineAdapt nutzt die Erkenntnisse unseres Vorläuferprojektes LIFE VinEcoS.

LIFE VineAdapt umfasst eine Laufzeit von 5 Jahren. Bis Juni 2025 widmen sich acht Praxis- und Forschungspartner aus Deutschland, Frankreich, Österreich und Ungarn 5 gemeinsamen Arbeitspaketen. Abgerundet werden die Arbeiten durch Maßnahmen der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und des Wissenstransfers.

Erwartete Ergebnisse

Wir gehen davon aus, dass die Etablierung standortgerechter Wildpflanzen in Weinbergen unter unterschiedlichen geografischen und klimatischen Bedingungen möglich ist und positive biotische und abiotische Effekte haben wird. Bei der Etablierung eines ressourceneffizienten und biodiversitätsfreundlichen Managements in Weinbergen erwarten wir einen geringeren Düngemittelbedarf sowie eine verbesserte CO2-Bilanz.

Wir erwarten, dass die eingesäten standortangepassten Wildpflanzenarten im Vergleich zu artenarmen konventionellen Gassenbegrünungen nach Dürreereignissen eine deutlich höhere Regenerationsrate aufweisen werden. Durch die Etablierung einer artenreichen Vegetation in ehemaligen Offengassen wird sich die Kohlenstoffspeicherung im Boden erhöhen. Aufgrund eines erhöhten Pollen- und Nektarangebotes durch die Wildpflanzen werden die Vorkommen von Wildbienen und Schädlingsantagonisten in den Rebgassen deutlich gesteigert. 

Projektstandorte

Deutschland

Saale-Unstrut

Frankreich

Luberon

Österreich

Steiermark

Ungarn

Eger / Tokaj